Baby Crazy

The New Zealand White doe is about 7-8 months old, and seems to be having a false pregnancy. She’s pulling fur and building a nest in the back corner of her cage. From all my research and consultation with more experienced rabbit raisers, this indicates that she has reached sexual maturity and can be bred whenever I like. I had been planning to breed her around Thanksgiving anyway, so I’ll just move my schedule up a week! I plan to breed her on Wednesday so that she should kindle the weekend before Christmas. If she takes, and is a good mom, we should have rabbit ready to eat by Easter/Ostara!

2 thoughts on “Baby Crazy

  1. So it seems! She wanted to get straight down to business when I put her in with the buck this morning. He wasn’t sure what was happening at first, but he figured it out in the end.

    Like

Chime in

