Archive | June 13, 2014

Patience is a virtue…I don’t quite possess

So much of farming is about waiting. Chicken eggs incubate for 21 days, duck and turkey for 28, and my Muscovies 35. The baby birds take 4-6 months or more to grow into productive layers, or to reach butchering weight.  The young pigs we have in the barnyard right now were born in mid-April, but won’t be ready for the butcher until mid-October. So it may surprise you to hear that I am just about the least patient person ever.

Still, I fare much, MUCH better at raising meat than I do in the world of gardening. Despite the fact that most vegetables have a much faster yield than my meat projects, I find the waiting even more difficult. If I want to, I can candle my eggs to see if there are chicks developing inside. I can measure my piglets and see evidence of their growth, and even calculate their approximate weight. But I can’t dig up my seeds to make sure they’re germinating! All I can do is watch and wait for them to break through the soil. So you can imagine how excited I get when I check the garden beds and find these!

First Planting Cucumbers

First Planting Cucumbers

Pole Beans

Pole Beans

Second Planting Cucumbers

Second Planting Cucumbers

Baby Tomatoes!

Baby Tomatoes!